top of page

Schengen Visas

Planning a trip around Europe ?


There are 26 countries in Europe where you may need to apply for a Schengen Visa before leaving home. The countries in the Schengen Visa region are:


Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxemburg, Malta, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden and Switzerland.


New Zealand passports do not require a Schengen Visa if visiting the Schengen region for less than 90 days. Any other passport holders should check if a visa is required using our free online visa check app.

The original plan behind the Schengen region was to have a common set of visa rules and make travel easier. However, like many good ideas the devil is always in the detail. Every Schengen Visa application requires a biometric appointment (your photo and fingerprints stored in powerful government computers). You may have to go to Wellington or Australia for biometrics. Just working out where and when to go is complicated. You can’t avoid it, but we can make it easy for you.


The Schengen Visa usually allows a maximum stay of 90 days and then you need to leave the region for 180 days before applying to go back.


Don’t risk the trip of a lifetime worrying about complex visa rules. Talk to the visa experts at Global Visas today.

Call the team on 09 358 0018


Or send us a message below. It costs nothing to speak to us

Thanks for submitting!

bottom of page